History & Location
The "Oude Delft"
Delft, the city that has received city rights in 1246, is the home town for more than 25 years for Gasterij 't Karrewiel.
This beautiful city flourished, thanks to the VOC and the Golden Age, the art and science. It started out as a place where was dug. The name of Delft is a left over: 'Delft' means digging. Digging our oldest canal, the "Oude Delft", marked the beginning of the city.
The "Paardenmarkt" (Horse Market)
The address of our Gasterij, Paardenmarkt 74, also provides a glimpse into history. After the gunpowder explosion in 1654, ruining a large part of the Delft Centre, the mayor addresses the area currently known as Paardenmarkt as the place for trading horses and large cattle. At that time our Gasterij did not exist of course.
Hofje van Pauw (Courtyard of Peacock)
The façade behind which our Gasterij is now, existed at that time. Small houses and a tannery were the first who settled at our address. The small houses of that time are still to be found at Paardenmarkt 54-62, in the "Courthouse of Peacock".
Elizabeth Pauw (Peacoack) was a widow of two mayors of Delft. In her will she had mentioned that a residential community had to be built as her legacy. Especially for poor or needy families. The current courthouse of Peacock. At present the courtyard accommodates residents of Stichting Ipse Bridges, under a protective housing project.
Besides the monumental facade of our Gasterij, there are still other monuments at De Paardenmarkt. For example, the former Artillery Warehouse and the barracks building.
Surrounded by canals, monuments and ancient courtyards our Gasterij is at a unique location of which is much to tell.
We therefore invite you for a Day trip or a guided tour. Walk with us along the stately buildings or sail with us among the many arch bridges that span the canals of Delft!